Shellac Or Vinyl?

Didn't really know where to put this question as it's slightly off-topic... I'm selling a couple of rare brazilian 78 RPMs on eBay at the moment by Chubby Checker and Elvis Presley and I just recieved a question about what material the discs are made of - vinyl or shellac... Does anyone of you know how to know for sure? I have limited knowledge about 78 RPMs and I honstely don't have a clue. :rolleyes: Anyone? :thumbsup:

Social source share

• Replies 10
  • Views 968
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Most active in this topic

Most active in this topic

Posted Images

They would more likely be shellac. It was used in the production of 78s in certain countries right up until the late '60s.

78s were still being pressed through the late '60s in countries which weren't efficiently supplied by electric. I have a few Indian 78s from 1965 - 1966 which are pressed on shellac.

Social source share

Guest SteveSnow

Thanks for the info! :rolleyes: These three are from 1960/1961 or so, but seems to be very brittle. Do you know if the Wikipedia info applies worldwide? A lot of things about the brazilian record industry seems to be at ends with the rest of the world so you never know. :thumbsup:

I'm pretty sure that some plants in South America and India carried on pressing 78s for quite a while after the rest of the world had moved on to 45s. Doesn't really help the shellac vs vinyl debate though I know.........

Social source share

Guest TONY ROUNCE

They would more likely be shellac. It was used in the production of 78s in certain countries right up until the late '60s.

78s were still being pressed through the late '60s in countries which weren't efficiently supplied by electric. I have a few Indian 78s from 1965 - 1966 which are pressed on shellac.

I've actually got a couple of Brazilian 78s from 62-3, they're shellac and, I suspect, the ones you've posted up will also be shellac, just like the Indian and Filipino 78s I also have.